Skuld Committee meeting 17 June 2016


Published: 29 June 2016

At its meeting in Athens on 17 June 2016, the Committee was informed of the status of the Association and noted that, in challenging financial, shipping and insurance markets, the club's strategy of diversification combined with strong underwriting discipline has been rewarded and the Association has consolidated its strong financial standing.

Financial year 2015

The Board of Directors' Report and the Financial Statements for the Association were reviewed and approved. The Committee recommended that the Board of Directors' report and the Financial Statements for the financial year 2015 are adopted at the Annual General Meeting of the Association which will take place in Oslo on 8 September 2016. The full accounts are available on the Skuld web site.

The Committee noted that the Association produced a positive technical result of USD 22 million and a negative investment income of USD -8 million. This is the thirteenth consecutive year in which the Association has delivered positive underwriting results. Skuld has a moderate risk profile on its investments and the investment performance was negative at -1.6% for the 2015 financial year. After taking account of investment results and tax, the net financial result is a surplus of USD 13 million for the 2015 accounting year which will be transferred to the contingency reserves which now stand at USD 348 million.

Review of 2013 policy year

The Committee endorsed the decision of the Board to recommend the closing of the 2013 policy year at the Annual General Meeting.


Members of the Association's Board of Directors are elected by the Committee in accordance with Statute 1.5.2. The following were elected and re-elected to the Board:

Re-elected for a period of two years until 2018

  • Klaus Kjærulff, Nordic Tankers AS, Farum, Denmark
  • Terje Hj Michelsen, Grieg Shipping Group AS, Bergen, Norway

Elected for a period of one year until 2017

  • Catherine Cheung, Rainbow Maritime Hong Kong/Vision Ship Management, Hong Kong
  • Ann-Marie Åström, Rederi AB Gotland, Visby, Sweden

Resigned from the Board [1]

  • Bernt O. Bodal, American Seafoods Group, Seattle, USA
  • Douglas Jacobsohn, Independent
  • Manfredi Lefebvre, Silversea Cruises Holding Ltd., Monaco
  • Sergey Popravko, Unicom Management Services (Cyprus) Ltd. (SCF Group), Cyprus
  • Trygve Seglem, Knutsen OAS Shipping AS, Haugesund, Norway
  • John P. Tavlarios, Gener8 Maritime Inc., New York, USA

Not up for election until 2017 and shall continue

  • Martin Larsen, Maersk Group, Copenhagen, Denmark

The Committee also re-elected Mr Klaus Kjærulff as Chairman of the Board for a period of one year until 2017. No Vice Chairman was elected.

The new Board is as follows

  • Klaus Kjærulff, Nordic Tankers AS (Chairman)
  • Martin Larsen, Maersk Group
  • Terje Hj Michelsen, Grieg Shipping Group AS
  • Catherine Cheung, Rainbow Maritime Hong Kong/Vision Ship Management
  • Ann-Mari Åström, Rederi AB Gotland
  • Claus Spinding (employee representative)
  • Simone Ingeberg (employee representative, from 8 September)

Yours faithfully,

Ståle Hansen
President and CEO

Assuranceforeningen Skuld (Gjensidig)

[1] The persons listed shall resign from the Board of Assuranceforeningen Skuld (Gjensidig) but shall be recommended for re-election as Directors of the Board of Skuld Mutual P&I Association (Bermuda) Ltd at the Annual General Meeting 8 September 2016.